top of page

What is postpartum midwifery care?

BC postpartum midwives offer primary care for both the birthing person and newborns for up to 6 weeks after childbirth and our care is 100% covered by MSP. We are experts in infant feeding, as well as the physical and emotional recovery from birth. We provide monitoring, prescriptions, lab requisitions and specialist referrals during this period. I am currently offering all visits at home or by phone. Your visit schedule will be customized based on the clinical needs of you and your baby. Once you are discharged from midwifery care around 6 weeks, I will provide you with a package of records and a summary of your midwifery visits to take with you as you transition back into routine care with your GP/NP. 

Dayna78.jpg

About Me

I have been fascinated by birth for as long as I can remember and it was after receiving compassionate and supportive midwifery care myself that I knew that I wanted to become a midwife.

 

After working as a doula, photographer and birth educator for more than a decade, I completed my Bachelor of Midwifery degree through UBC’s Faculty of Medicine. Through my training and practice, I’ve attended births in White Rock, Surrey, Delta, New Westminster, Langley, Chilliwack and Richmond.

While I was living temporarily in Germany in 2004, I had a postpartum midwife after the birth of my second baby and it was such an empowering experience. For me, it was so helpful to have in-home visits and personalized care in a place where I had very few connections. One of the most rewarding parts of my work is providing these sorts of personalized connections and referrals in our community, to set you up for the best start possible during your postpartum year. I also love supporting other local midwives by assisting with homebirths and clinic coverage, so it's possible you will have already met me if you are receiving care at Terra Nova Midwifery or Semiahmoo Bay Midwives.

My family has made our home in the community of Tsawwassen since 2007. When I am not midwifing, you can find me driving kids around (our six children range in age from 10-22), walking the beach or curled up with coffee & a good book.

bottom of page